//Park Renewal Committee Progress Report

Park Renewal Committee Progress Report

Helping out on clean up day, April 2010
At its meeting on May 25, the Vermont Square Park Renewal Committee (VSP), discussed next steps in community consultation, fundraising, youth involvement,  and outreach to YOU during the summer months.
Andrew Ignatieff, who chaired his first meeting, is speaking to city staffer, Bob Duguid, this week to confirm that we are still on track for the two summertime consultations.  Watch this space for further updates. Based on the plans the city submitted to us in March, we are aiming for  consultations in July and August.  We will confirm once the design consultant is on board.  The consultant will be leading the community consultation.

The fundraising team, led by Liza Jerome, will pull together a plan in the coming months.  They will focus fundraising activities  in three areas – the neighbourhood, local businesses, and relevant foundations. If you want to be on the fundraising committee, or think you know of someone who could help the community raise funds, contact Liza at <liza.jerome072@sympatico.ca>
Vermont Square? Name this park at seatonvillagetoronto@gmail.com
On the issue of youth involvement,  Andrew will be talking to the St. Alban’s Youth Council in the coming weeks, as part of a bigger effort for youth in the neighbourhood and St. Alban’s youth to have their say.  Graeme Lovatt, who will be replacing Megan Desjardins, on the VSP Renewal Committee, as the St. Alban’s rep,  will have details, which we will post in this space. Paul Tonin, the new Playground Committee chair, will work with Graeme to make sure neighbourhood kids’ views are included before the end of the school year.
The committee also discussed how we are going to keep the neighbourhood informed of the consultations.  Here is what you can expect.

Check this site in late June-early July to find out about the dates.  They will be posted here first. We will put up about a dozen big posters in high-traffic areas to remind you. If you think your neighbours may not visit the site, or read the posters,  but may be interested in participating, please pass along the information.

Attending: Andrew Ignatieff, Joan MacCallum, Suzanna Birchwood, Bob Luker, Paul Tonin, Jennifer Hunter, Diana Moeser, Peter Groves, David Rezmovitz, Liza Jerome, Megan Desjardins, Eleanor Smollett.  Regrets:  Greg Gaetz, Peter Smith